Identity

So far so far away
From all that used to build me a name
I became a construct of shame
Shame of what I was, what I wanted, what I am
Nothing feels as right as rain
Like I’m living in a haze
I don’t even know anymore
What it was that I used to hate
Or if there was something
I really wanted for me

And all the things that I used
As my identity
Are now dust hidden infused
In my analogies
Nothing but mere hypocrisy
Cause all that I say
Is baked in my fake ideology
Nothing but words
That I just make pretend
Are my reality

Or do I?

I don’t even want to commit
Just to endure, to survive
And maintain my sanity
Making room for others
While I drown in my infidelity

It is myself that I betray

Casting myself pathetically aside
To be who they want me to be
I no longer have identity
I have excuses to fathom
That I still have brilliancy
While I require to be considered
Trustworthy
I am the least
A beast
Of what I used to be
And what have consumed me

Leave a comment